Tavi Makes Everyone Look Like a Rookie

I spent a good amount of time checking out little Tavi’s blog Style Rookie yesterday night (tells you the kind of life I have seeing as it was a Saturday night). Where do I start? That she’s only like 4″6 tall and inspires me with her throw-random-things-together-and-look-great-doing-it skills? That I’m full of envy (and jealousy) that she’s attended front row at the likes of Alexander Wang and Marc Jacobs? The fact that she’s only 13?!

Yes, Tavi started her blog when she was 12. When I was 12 I wore big t-shirts with 90’s aerobic leggings. Everyday. I wore the only pair of sneakers I owned. Everyday. Oh, sometimes I wore scrunchies in various colors and considered those dress up days. Tavi, on the other hand, started posting her outfits created with cheap buys, vintage finds from dad, mom, and sister, shared anything she felt like on her fashion blog and now has become this little person who gets to guest edit for major magazines on top of attending the most coveted fashion shows. (ok, I admit I’m more jealous than envious). Needless to say, Tavi brings “playing dress-up” to the next level.

Her outfits aren’t always wearable, but they are always creative. Her first entry started by saying, “…lately I’ve been really interested in fashion…” and from there she spun out this witty, quirky, and fun blog of hers. Even though vintage is not my style – I don’t have the talent to shop or wear them – I still very much enjoy reading her blog through her quirky writing.

I did not realize at the time that the following pictures from her blog – which I actually remember viewing in a major fashion magazine (about a year ago?) – were from a mockup “photo shoot” done by Tavi and a few of her friends. I seriously thought they were a photographer’s idea to dress kids in grown up clothes as an editorial spread! Anyway, they’re beyond cute so I share them.





About Too Poor for Couture

A girl who loves fashion enough to slave away in the industry. For fun, for hobby, for inspiration, but definitely not for money (unfortunately). I don't study fashion like it's the bible nor do I know everything about it. Fashion should be fun, expressive, and effortless. Too Poor for Couture is my chronicle of fashion related thoughts, news, outfits, and randoms of a normal girl on a normal budget working un-glamorously through the fashion industry.
This entry was posted in People and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tavi Makes Everyone Look Like a Rookie

  1. ching says:

    she’s so cute!!

Leave a Reply

